Steeze Urkle Interview

Interview with Steeze Urkle from Raleigh, North Carolina.  One of the illest artists out!

1. When did you first start rapping and who were some of your biggest musical inspirations?

“I was about 13 and I used to freestyle over instrumentals with my brothers.  I guess I started taking it seriously at age 17.  I’m 21 now…so guess we been on the grind ever since.  Some of my biggest influences were Nas, Jay-Z/Rocafella, Mos Def, cats on No Limit with Baby and Slim.  Artists today that are influencing me the most I’d have to say are Pharrell, J.Cole, James Orbit, Paper Chase, FTH, Joe Budden/Slaughter House and Kid Cudi.

2. What’s the origin of Tribe Called Frezh and how’d you link up with Wiz Kahlifa and Taylor Gang?

“Tribe Called Frezh is basically a group me and my homies (Paper Chase & James Orbit) started back home in Raleigh, NC.  It went from being us as a group just riding around the city showing why we’re the most Original/Fresh through clothes, thrift stores and sneaker releases.  By the way, I wore snap caps before everyone in today’s “new school” industry so stop praising it…it’s nothing new. I ended up catching a couple Khalifa shows out in NC – I was with my TCF/FTH fam. We were fresh as fuck so we stood out amongst others, plus i knew Chevy Woods( Taylor Gang) via twitter. He checked out my shit so when he saw me in person it was love, so almost every NC show they had I blazed up with Taylor Gang and Wiz. Wouldn’t say we linked because no music/collab was done. I don’t even think I brought up music honestly…(laughing)”

3. What is it about your style that separates you from everyone else – both fashion wise and music wise? (Both are unique as hell!).

“Well my style people cant copy too well because only I know what I want to wear/buy. So unless you dissect my brain, you really cant duplicate no matter how much Jordan, 10xdeep, The Hundreds, Kaws, Diamond etc. you wear. Steeze Urkle and TCF can’t be duplicated. We are Our Own Brand. But lyrically, I just normalyl get stoned…zone off…and I write my heart out – every pain, every wrong, ever righty…(laughing)…well at least i try to…and thats whats separates Me…nothing seems Real anymore.”

4. What’s in store for you in the future? Mixtapes, shows, etc…

“I got my SuperCaliFragilisticThisMixtapeisDopeShit Mixtape coming this Fall, then I have my first official TCF Mixtapes/Album, so I’m excited. I feel like it’s time for my city bro…I’m Going on a 2 month tour this spring (March) with FTH. It’s more of a whole East Coast takeover so any major city on the east we shall be crash landing. But the future you ask? I don’t know bro..sometimes the good die young..only God Knows.”

Steeze & Currensy

5. What’s the main message you want to get out through your music? What do you want the world to know about Steeze Urkle?

“I want the world to know a peasant can become a King/Queen – it’s all in the mind. Live free and with no regrets. You’ll clearly be able to hear and visualize this exact journey every time you press play on a Steeze Urkle/ TCF record.”

Saturday Night Live

Steeze Urkle is one of the most talented artists out right now. Check out more of his music on his facebook page, http://www.facebook.com/steeze1 and follow him on twitter @StonedCOLDSteez

Tribe Called Frezh blog: www.TribeCalledFrezh.blogspot.com

Interview by Steve Pittelli – twitter @dearrdiary

12 Comments

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by B*Right, B*Right, B*Right, steve pittelli, sk8ta reeves and others. sk8ta reeves said: Steeze Urkle Interview: http://wp.me/pK692-QO […]

  2. My programmer is trying to convince me to move to .

    net from PHP. I have always disliked the idea because
    of the expenses. But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using Movable-type on several websites for about
    a year and am nervous about switching to another
    platform. I have heard excellent things about
    blogengine.net. Is there a way I can import all my wordpress posts into it?
    Any kind of help would be greatly appreciated!

  3. While using it should be kept in your head that
    your particular vaporizer consists of a limited period of life and it is uphill
    to use it following that time period. After receiving a medical marijuana recommendation from your doctor, you
    are free to visit one of the hundreds of medical marijuana
    dispensaries across California. Many individuals often call vaporizer
    as smoke sticks.

  4. This condition requires special care to combat the issue successfully.
    The nicotine shared in a surrounding with other
    people who smoke cigarette is what we call the second hand smoke
    which is very much dangerous and harmful than taking the tobacco itself.
    It have been genres that the cannabis plant is used
    as for medication and herbal detoxification but due to disputes in its utility made it restricted for few to research for its better effects.

  5. Great web site you’ve got here.. It’s hard to find high quality writing like yours these days.
    I truly appreciate individuals like you! Take care!!

  6. I think that everything said made a lot of sense. However, think on this,
    suppose you were to write a awesome post
    title? I mean, I don’t wish to tell you how to run your website, but what if you added
    a headline that makes people desire more? I mean Steeze Urkle
    Interview | M.A.A.R.S. is a little boring.
    You might peek at Yahoo’s home page and watch how they create
    article titles to grab people interested. You might try adding a video or a pic or
    two to grab people excited about everything’ve got to
    say. In my opinion, it might bring your website a little livelier.

  7. Very good info. Lucky me I came across your site by
    chance (stumbleupon). I’ve saved as a favorite for later!

  8. Excellent post however I was wondering if you could write a litte more on this topic?
    I’d be very grateful if you could elaborate a little bit more.

    Many thanks!

  9. These tools and equipment provide safety, comfort and make your adventure possible and enjoyable,
    thus the right gear is of absolute importance to hikers.
    The digital screen on the control panel will tell you the degree at
    which the humidistat is programmed however it does not indicate the genuine stage of relative humidity in the room then
    you want your very own hygrometer to know if unit is really
    doing work or stops at the present stage. It is
    powerful, removing up to 74 pints of water from the air daily.

  10. Pretty! Thhis ԝas ann extremely wonderful article.

    Τhank you for supplying thee details.

  11. After I originally left a comment I seem to have clicked on the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now every time a comment is added I recieve four emails with
    the same comment. Is there a way you are able to remove me from that
    service? Thanks!

  12. I got this website from my pal who told me regarding this web page
    and at the moment this time I am browsing this website and reading very informative
    articles at this place.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment