Pace-O Beats Interview

1. Who are some of the people you have worked with?

I’ve worked with Gillie Da Kid, Meek Millz, Peedi Crakk, Chris of the Young Gunz, Oschino, Joey Jihad, Daddy-O, Reed Dollaz, Hell Rell, Lil Chuckie of Young Money and many more.

2. How does your style separate you from other producers?

I’m really creative.  I try to think outside of the box; not for just making something that’s weird, but bringing back old sounds.  I’ve been bringing back synths from the 90’s to “try to spice it up a little bit.”

3. There are may producers out there.  What has been your biggest struggle to get to the position you are in now where you are well known and have been able to build an impressive resume?

The hardest part has been building trust and getting the opportunity to get the tracks I’ve made to the right artist.  You used to be able to link up in the studio with the person you are working with.  Now it is just sending emails.  You don’t get that connection of doing an album together.  Also, money was a big factor.

4. Your team is, “The Astronauts.”  Who is apart of it and what do they contribute?

Mont Brown is our main artist, “He’s the Lil Wayne of the situation.”  Toxic is the First Lady, Bee Kay does rock music and raps, Dot Com does our fashion line, Quarter is a writer and Vito, one of the founders of the group, is a rapper.

5. What can you tell us about your clothing line, Astronauts Clothing?

Dot Com does the designs.  It’s a mix of street wear and skateboard style clothing with all different color combinations.  We make t-shirts, buy Chuck Taylors and make them look dirty and put designs on them – it’s a real rockstar look.  Sneaker Villa in Philly will be selling our shirts soon and you can also purchase them on my facebook page and on www.paceobeats.net

6. What do you do more of – sampling or making beats from scratch?

I mainly start from scratch, unless I hear something that catches my attention.  I prefer to start from scratch though because you have more freedom.  If I do use a sample, I’ll change it up and make it different from the original to add my own style to it.

7. When did you first start making beats and producing?  Who was the first artist you made beats for and produced?

I started in 2001 and the first person was Peedi Crakk.

8. What’s going on for the future? What are the next mixtapes you are doing, etc?

I’ll be working on getting things going with my team, Daddy-O’s mixtape, a new UK artist Startah.  Peedi Crakk recently contacted me to start working on his next mixtape and album.  I have a mixtape coming out called Noise.  It’s a beats CD and a follow up to my last mixtape, Food 4 Thought Pt. 2: Dinner Is Served Instrumentals available on iTunes.  I just did a track for Vado (Cam’ron’s artist) and I’ll be working with Lil Chuckie. I’ll also be hosting the mixtape Leaders of The New School featuring Theodore Grams and Daddy-O.

You can check out more from Pace-O Beats at:

www.myspace.com/paceobeats

www.paceobeats.net

www.myspace.com/astronautstakingoff

Facebook @ Pace-O Beats, Twitter @paceobeats

Interview by Steve Pittelli (Twitter @dearrdiary)

1 Comment

  1. Aw, this was an exceptionally nice post. Finding the
    time and actual effort to produce a good article…
    but what can I say… I hesitate a lot and don’t seem to get anything done.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

