Configa

Configa Beats

1.) Where are you from? I’m from the UK, I grew up in a North Eastern city called Newcastle…But I’ve lived in several different areas since.
2.) How did you come to realize that producing music was for you? Why not basketball or a doctor? Well hip hop is my first love really…It might sound like a cliché but it’s true, I was like 9 years old when I got into it. From that point I dabbled in radio presenting when I was a teenager and then picked up the mic when I was around 16. I started messing with beats a few years later. It just seemed like a natural progression to be honest bro! Listening to actually doing was just the next step. Rapping to making beats was a natural kind of step too. Hip hop’s dope in the sense that you don’t need to be formally trained in order to do it. If you love it, you can do it…haha, anyway back to your question. I’m actually tall enough to play basketball funny enough, I’m 6’6″ and wasn’t a bad player at all, but I always preferred contact sports such as soccer which is massive out here. I had professional soccer trials when I was in my teens but it wasn’t meant to be! and I’m no Doctor but I am almost a Doctor, well if things go well lol…As I’ve recently completed my Ph.D thesis! It deals with hip hop on a cultural level. I ain’t passed my exam yet, so it ain’t official as we speak lol.
3.) What does Configa Beats mean? What made you guys use the name “Slept On fam?” is their a personal story behind that name?
Configa is just configure, meaning to create or set up that type of thing, which pretty much describes making a beat as far as I’m concerned lol. My crew Slept On Fam, well that name basically centers around the fact that we were all Slept On artists coming together. We all felt like we had something to prove I guess.

4.) If you could work with any hip hop producer in America, who would it be and why?Tough one. It’s really a tie between Pete Rock and DJ Premier, simply because they are my two favorite producers of all time. It would be amazing to vibe in the studio with either one of them and pick up any of their tricks of the trade.

5.) If I catch a plane out to the UK, I can sleep on your couch right?Hell yeah man!!!
6.) Since I started this whole blogging thing with skateboarding, I have to ask have you ever tried to skateboard before? What was that experience like if so? lol…Yeah! I was regularly on a skateboard when I was a young kid. I still have the scars to prove it, so maybe that answers your question! lol! Let’s just say that you wouldn’t be concerned by what you saw haha. But then again, when you’re a kid you’re reckless I suppose! It was great fun anyway.

Name 3 things you can’t live without in the studio?
1.) Good artists
2.) Good samples
3. )Good humor

Check out some of Configa’s work HERE
FacebookConfiga Beats
Twitter@configa

((SIDE NOTE))
Configa Beats-“Hearing new dope music inspires me to make beats…Like when I hear Black Milk, 9th Wonder or Just Blaze or somebody like that flip a dope sample…” create some classic sounding shit, that definitely inspires me…But at the same time I’ll throw on something from the mid 90s such as Smif-n-Wessun’s “Dah Shinin” and be equally inspired…It’s just a case of hearing something dope and wanting to do something dope myself.

On a more general level, I guess that music itself just inspres me man…I can be listening to something random and then I’ll hear certain sections that I just NEED to sample, and bam! it goes from there…So yeah, there’s several different ways for me to get inspired lol.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

